The Yesenin Museum of Moscow opened in 1995. The event was timed to coincide with the poet’s 100th birth anniversary. The main exhibition, covering the life and career of the most-read Russian poet worldwide (according to UNESCO), was created by a group of volunteers and then presented to Moscow – Yesenin’s beloved city.
Bolshoy Strochenovsky pereulok 24, in Zamoskvorechye, Yesenin’s only official address in Moscow, was where the poet lived and was registered from 1911 to 1918. The building became the official state museum in 1996, when it opened its doors to all Yesenin devotees.
In 2010 the museum acquired another building, at Chernishevsky per. 4, bldg. 2, where Sergei Yesenin had been a frequent guest. Since 1912, he had participated in the Surikovsky literary and musical circle, whose members often gathered in the building. The Yesenin Museum of Moscow has initiated design and restoration work to preserve the historic mansion’s unique exterior, while remaking the interior into a museum exhibition space.
The new museum building, located at Klyazminskaya street, 21, bldg. 2, in the long run will be open Yesenin cultural and educational center. All the inhabitants of the Northern District of Moscow in the immediate vicinity will be able to spend their leisure time in an atmosphere of Yesenin’s poetry. It is planned to conduct various activities with the children, concerts, artistic evenings, as well as showing the unique museum exhibitions.
115054, Moscow, Bolshoy Strochenovsky pereulok 24, bld. 2
We, Fr, Sa, Su — from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Th — from 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Ticket office closes 1 hour before museum closing time
Closed on Mondays and Tuesdays
To inquire about English-language museum tours and literary excursions through Moscow, please call +7 (915) 188 3325